TL;DR
Get cleaning gear delivered free with Prime
- Fast, free delivery on millions of items
- Prime Video, Amazon Music and more included
- Member-only deals all year
Kobalt has introduced two 24V Max Ultimate Output TXP batteries using tabless cells, joining a technology already adopted by brands including Ryobi. Kobalt says the packs can deliver up to 40% more power than standard 24V batteries, but independent comparative testing and real-world performance details were not provided in the report.
Kobalt has introduced two tabless-cell batteries for its 24V Max power-tool platform, adding the 4.0Ah and 8.0Ah Ultimate Output TXP packs as competitors including Ryobi already offer tabless options. The move narrows a technology gap between the brands, but the available information does not establish that Kobalt’s batteries match or outperform Ryobi’s in independent tests.
The new batteries use tabless cell connections, a design intended to reduce electrical resistance inside a battery. According to the report by Pro Tool Reviews, Kobalt says the packs can provide up to 40% more power than its standard 24V batteries. The source gives maximum output figures of 1,200 watts for the 8.0Ah pack and 2,400 watts for the 4.0Ah pack, attributing those figures to Kobalt.
Kobalt also claims each battery offers the longest runtime among its 24V packs of the same capacity. The report says the packs retain their stated voltage and capacity: tabless construction does not itself increase either measurement. Instead, reduced resistance is intended to improve energy transfer and reduce heat during operation. The report does not provide independent test results comparing the new packs with Kobalt’s standard batteries or Ryobi’s products.
The packs are compatible with the Kobalt 24V Max lineup, according to the report. The 4.0Ah battery is listed at $99 and the 8.0Ah battery at $159; both carry a three-year warranty and are sold through Lowe’s, which carries Kobalt tools exclusively. The exterior updates include new battery charge-indicator lights.
A Battery Upgrade, Not a Brand Verdict
For people who already own Kobalt 24V tools, the new packs offer a way to access the claimed benefits of tabless design without replacing their existing tools. The likely appeal is greatest for users who regularly put high demands on drills, saws, or other cordless equipment; those who use their tools occasionally may see less reason to replace batteries that still meet their needs.
The competitive significance is more limited than the headline question suggests. Kobalt is now joining a group that includes Ryobi, Milwaukee, Ridgid and Metabo HPT in offering tabless batteries, but the source does not provide a direct Kobalt-versus-Ryobi test. Kobalt’s launch shows it has adopted the technology, not that it has caught up across battery performance, tool range, price, or the broader platform.
For buyers, the advertised power figures and runtime claims are useful starting points, but they do not settle how the batteries perform in specific tools or under sustained workloads. Independent testing and comparisons using similar tools and conditions would help establish whether the difference is meaningful in everyday use.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
How Tabless Cells Change Battery Design
Conventional battery cells use internal tabs to carry current. The report explains that tabless cells reduce resistance by providing more pathways for energy transfer. Lower resistance can mean less heat, which may let a battery deliver higher power or charge faster than a comparable conventional design. Those are design benefits described in the source; the report does not give charge-time measurements for Kobalt’s new packs.
Tabless batteries are not new to the power-tool market. Pro Tool Reviews says Milwaukee introduced tabless cell connections with its Forge batteries more than three years before the report, and that Ridgid, Metabo HPT and Ryobi have since added tabless products. Kobalt’s launch is therefore a later entry into an established trend, rather than the start of the technology’s use in cordless tools.
The new packs sit within Kobalt’s existing 24V Max platform and are presented as compatible with its current tools. That makes the launch primarily a battery upgrade for owners, rather than an announced replacement of the tool system itself. The report raises the possibility of future tools designed to make greater use of tabless batteries, but does not say Kobalt has announced any such products.
“The batteries provide up to 40% more power compared with standard 24V packs.”
— Kobalt, as reported by Pro Tool Reviews
Kobalt 8.0Ah tabless batteries for power tools
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Performance Claims Still Need Testing
The source does not state the exact announcement date, when the batteries became available, or whether stock is currently available at every Lowe’s store. It also does not provide independent runtime, power, heat, or charging tests for either Kobalt pack.
It remains unclear how the new batteries compare directly with Ryobi’s tabless options. The source identifies Ryobi as a competitor that has adopted tabless technology, but offers no side-by-side pricing or performance comparison. Kobalt’s figures are company claims, and results may depend on the tool, workload, battery condition and test conditions.
The report also does not confirm whether Kobalt is developing new tools specifically for these batteries. Future products are raised as a possibility, not an announced plan.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Availability and Tool Tests to Watch
Buyers can check Lowe’s for current pricing and availability, and confirm that a selected battery suits their Kobalt 24V Max tools. The listed prices are $99 for 4.0Ah and $159 for 8.0Ah, but the report does not specify whether those prices are temporary or subject to change.
The next useful evidence would be independent testing that compares the TXP batteries with standard Kobalt packs and comparable Ryobi batteries under consistent conditions. Such tests could examine runtime, delivered power, charging time and temperature during demanding use. Until those results are available, the clearest confirmed development is that Kobalt has added tabless batteries to its platform—not that the brand has surpassed or fully matched a competitor.
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
Key Questions
What has Kobalt announced?
Kobalt has introduced 4.0Ah and 8.0Ah Ultimate Output TXP batteries using tabless cells for its 24V Max platform, according to Pro Tool Reviews.
Are the new Kobalt batteries compatible with existing 24V Max tools?
The report says both packs are compatible with the Kobalt 24V Max lineup. Buyers should check the product information for their specific tools before purchasing.
Does tabless design increase battery capacity?
No. The report says tabless construction does not itself increase the battery’s voltage or amp-hour capacity. It is intended to reduce resistance and heat and improve energy transfer.
Have Kobalt’s batteries been shown to outperform Ryobi’s?
Not in the source material. Kobalt’s stated power and runtime figures are company claims, and the report does not provide independent or side-by-side tests against Ryobi.
How much do the batteries cost?
The report lists the 4.0Ah pack at $99 and the 8.0Ah pack at $159, with a three-year warranty for each. Both are sold through Lowe’s, though current availability and pricing should be checked with the retailer.
Source: rss
Columbus Day / Indigenous Peoples' Day Picks
long weekend sales
As an affiliate, we earn on qualifying purchases.
